Robot model
Lingo
Lingo is Abbott's over-the-counter continuous glucose monitor biosensor for non-diabetic and wellness consumers, built on the FreeStyle Libre sensor platform,…
- Manufacturer
- Abbott
- Form factor
- biometric
- Maturity
- commercial
- Lifecycle
- active
- Deployments
- 1
- Website
- abbott.mediaroom.com ↗
The verified answer
As of Sep 2026, DEPLOY verifies Lingo, a biometric by Abbott (commercial): 1 verified deployment on record. 3 sources back the record.
Lingo holds 2 FDA 510(k) clearances, per the DEPLOY registry.
See all 2 filingsOverview
Lingo is Abbott's over-the-counter continuous glucose monitor biosensor for non-diabetic and wellness consumers, built on the FreeStyle Libre sensor platform, and it is recorded in the biometric form factor as a narrow boundary include and the second glucose example alongside Dexcom Stelo. Made by Abbott, listed on the New York Stock Exchange as ABT through its Abbott Diabetes Care unit, Lingo is a disposable biosensor worn on the back of the upper arm for up to fourteen days using a glucose-oxidase amperometric assay, and it was cleared by the FDA under 510(k) K233655 on May 29, 2024, as a Class II integrated continuous glucose monitoring system for adults eighteen and older who are not on insulin, explicitly not for the diagnosis of any disease including diabetes, a posture directly parallel to Stelo.
Its app provides a real-time glucose graph, a Lingo Count daily glucose-spike metric with adaptive targets, food and activity logging, algorithm-driven personalized recommendations, Lingo Challenges behavioral nudges, and Lingo Live sessions with human Abbott nutritionists, with entry pricing of about fifty-four dollars for a two-week single-biosensor starter plan and recurring biweekly and monthly multi-sensor tiers. Glucose is in the biometric definition and Lingo is biometric-primary, and it clears the medical-sensor-without-meaningful-AI exclusion bar on insight-layer substance, since the Lingo Count, adaptive targets, and personalized food-response recommendations are the differentiator versus a bare continuous-glucose graph that Abbott deliberately does not sell to this wellness audience, so the device would exist without the insight layer only in a meaningfully degraded form.
A critical cap-flag applies: Lingo is not at parity with Stelo on artificial intelligence. Stelo cleared the bar with a genuine generative-AI layer on Google Cloud Vertex AI and Gemini, whereas Lingo's primary sources describe adaptive and rule-based personalization only, with no documented generative-AI layer and no named AI coaching agent, its coaching being algorithmic plus human nutritionists through Lingo Live, so the registry does not grant Lingo Stelo-equivalent AI standing and records it as the borderline case of the cohort that passes on insight-layer substance rather than on generative-AI grounds.
The FDA clearance is the strong anchor, and items not verified include any AI comparable to Stelo's generative AI, a named Lingo coaching agent, the older fifty-three-or-eighty-nine-dollar tier figures since the verified entry is about fifty-four dollars for two weeks and is time-sensitive, and any announced generative-AI roadmap for Lingo.
Verified vs. claimed
- Maturity stage
- commercial(Commercially deployed with revenue-generating operations.)
- Sources on file
- View all sources →
Key facts
Runtime
Price
Sensor suite
Autonomy level
Form factor
Availability
Pricing model
Specs
Notes
Specs
Form Factor
Fda clearance
Data & sources
Press releases
1
Government records
1
Web sources
1
3 sources backing this record.View all →
Availability and pricing
- Availability
- Shipping now
- Price
- $54 (actual sale price)as of 2024-06-10
- Units in field
- Not disclosed
- Sales model
- Not disclosed
- Lead time
- Not disclosed
Pricing
Price status: actual-sale-price = real published price at time of sale; manufacturer-target = vendor target, not yet realized; analyst-estimate = third-party projection, not a vendor figure; not-announced = no price on record.
Prices verified as of Jun 10, 2024
Deployments (1)
- Lingo at Globaloperational
Lingo (Abbott) operating in Global.
Lingo on the deployment map
View the global mapWhere Lingo is verified operating. Explore the deployment map by place and type.
Recent activity
Every change to this record is dated, sourced, and independently verified where marked.
- Specs.fda clearance verifiedVerifiedJun 7, 2026
cleared
- Verified media addedVerifiedJun 4, 2026
Say hello to Lingo
- Record createdJun 3, 2026
Added to the verified registry
- Price point recorded: $54VerifiedJun 10, 2024
Actual sale price
- Incident recordedMay 24, 2024
Abbott recalls Liberta RC DBS System due to stimulation turning off at 50-day intervals
Deployment-verified media (1)
Abbott's introduction of Lingo, its over-the-counter glucose biosensor. Lingo is FDA-cleared OTC (2024) for consumer wellness and metabolic-health tracking, not diabetes medical management, distinct from the prescription FreeStyle Libre.
From deployment: Global
Regulatory filings (2)
Safety record
2 recalls on record (1 critical, 1 moderate). Most recent: May 2024.
Most recent: May 2024
Only active incidents are counted. Retracted incidents are excluded from this summary but remain reachable at their canonical URLs.
Incidents affecting Lingo (2)
Includes incidents linked directly to this model or to deployments of it. Retracted incidents are excluded from this view but remain reachable at their canonical URLs.
Sources (3)
Compare Lingo
Common questions
What is Lingo?
How much does Lingo cost?
Is Lingo actually deployed in the real world?
Who makes Lingo?
Where is Lingo deployed?
Can you buy Lingo?
Is Lingo FDA cleared?
What are alternatives to Lingo?
How does Lingo compare to Blackrock Neuroport Array?
Is Lingo a top biometric?
What is Lingo's maturity stage?
Is Lingo safe?
What is the Abbott Lingo glucose biosensor?
Methodology: Verified · 3 sources (2 primary) · last reviewed 2026-07-18
Verification posture
Verified
High confidence
Review state
Stable
Last reviewed 2026-07-18
Maturity + lifecycle
Maturity stage: commercial
Lifecycle: active
Architectural position
Cohort: biometric
Sub-cohorts: glucose-cell-ai-substance-gradient
Sources by quality tier
- 1
- unclassified
- Unclassified source
- 1
- primary-fda-database
- FDA database
- 1
- primary-company-ir
- Company IR disclosure
The framework is documented at /methodology. Corrections at /corrections. Reviewer: DEPLOY editorial team.
Methodology surface for Lingo.Recent coverage
Lingo in third-party press
Attention vs reality over time
Media mentions per month (area) against verified deployment events (dots). A press spike over a flat deployment line is the hype gap, drawn over time.
In the press
Recent coverage mentioning Lingo from third-party publications. Automatically surfaced; not part of the verified registry record.
Duolingo Stock Is Shaking Off AI Fears
Duolingo Has Already Been Disrupting The Education Services Industry, But This Is Just The Beginning
Duolingo Expands Its Math Services for More Advanced and Personalized Learning
The popular language learning app is also running back-to-school discounts on subscriptions now through Sept. 11.
Duolingo Expands Its Math Services for More Advanced and Personalized Learning
The popular language learning app is also running back-to-school discounts on subscriptions now through Sept. 11.
Lovable raises $400M, Duolingo acquires Animade, and Isembard is a politician's "wet dream"
This week, we tracked more than 35 tech funding deals worth over €763 million and over 10 exits, M&A transactions, rumours, and related news stories across Europe.If email is more…
Duolingo snaps up UK animation studio Animade
Mobile learning platform Duolingo has acquired Animade, a London-based animation and motion design studio. Founded in London, Animade has built an international reputation for…
Ultrahuman launches M2 Live with Abbott's Lingo glucose sensor - t2ONLINE
<a…
Duolingo’s share of education app market revenue climbs to 16% as market slows
Language learning app Duolingo had another great year with 38 percent revenue growth, extending its lead as the largest education app by revenue as market growth slowed. The…
Withings Partners With Abbott To Integrate Lingo OTC Glucose Monitoring Data - insights.citeline.com
<a…
Abbott First To Offer OTC Continuous Glucose Monitor On Amazon - insights.citeline.com
<a…
14 Highlights From CES 2025 In AI, Robots, Glasses, Health And More - Forbes
<a…
Techlicious CES 2025 Editor’s Choice Awards - Techlicious
<a…
Machine-readable surfaces
- Markdown mirror: /models/abbott-lingo.md
- JSON-LD: embedded in this page’s head
- REST API: /v1/models/1c39a110-f475-4bbe-a687-83ca13024421
- Revision history: /models/abbott-lingo/history
- Data documentation: /data
- Query this programmatically: Deploy MCP
Buyer-facing pricing: deploy.report/price/abbott-lingo
Video
Gov. Greg Abbott is calling for new restrictions on where AI data centers can be built in Texas, focusing on rural areas and sites near neighborhoods as he argues communities should not be adversely impacted. https://cb
ABT stock analysis is absolutely essential right now as Abbott Laboratories executes a massive strategic shift in the diagnostics market. In this video, we brea
Reality vs attention
Lingo draws attention at the 90th percentile but verifies reality at the 18th percentile among biometric robots. Hype Gap +72.3, 2nd widest among biometric robots.
6-month trend
Analysis
Thin deployment record; scale validation still in progress.
Signal flags
Dimension breakdown
Verified signal
Attention (reach, not merit)
DEPLOY Intelligence scores are computed from verified registry data: confirmed deployments, disclosed funding rounds, regulatory filings, active job listings, video viewership, and press coverage. Confidence ratings reflect data availability. Scores update nightly.
DEPLOY Indices — verified vs claimed
Last computed: Sep 2, 2026