Robot model
Maestro
Moon Surgical (private, with offices in Paris and San Carlos, California; led by CEO Anne Osdoit, with Intuitive Surgical co-founder Fred Moll as board chair…
- Manufacturer
- Moon Surgical
- Form factor
- surgical
- Maturity
- commercial
- Lifecycle
- active
- Deployments
- 1
The verified answer
As of Oct 2026, DEPLOY verifies Maestro, a surgical by Moon Surgical (commercial): 1 verified deployment on record. 4 sources back the record.
Maestro holds 3 FDA 510(k) clearances, per the DEPLOY registry.
See all 3 filingsOverview
Moon Surgical (private, with offices in Paris and San Carlos, California; led by CEO Anne Osdoit, with Intuitive Surgical co-founder Fred Moll as board chair and backers including Sofinnova Partners and NVIDIA's venture arm NVentures) makes Maestro, a laparoscopic surgical-assistant and collaboration robot that holds and positions instruments and the endoscope alongside the surgeon rather than acting as a full master-slave teleoperation console, targeting the large pool of soft-tissue procedures unserved by teleoperated robots. The commercial Maestro received FDA 510(k) clearance under K240598 on June 5, 2024, and the company reports more than 1,100 patients treated across the US and Europe, on roughly $90 million-plus in funding.
A notable AI distinction in this cohort: Maestro's ScoPilot is a genuinely shipped, FDA-cleared AI feature for intraoperative scope control, powered by NVIDIA Holoscan and cleared with a Predetermined Change Control Plan, rather than a mere demonstration, which sets Maestro apart from the teleoperation-only platforms here. A pathway correction worth recording: Maestro went the 510(k) route under K240598, not the de novo route sometimes assumed, with the contemporaneous de novo authorizations belonging to different companies such as Virtual Incision and MMI.
The registry records Maestro at commercial maturity, an early-commercial collaborative-assist robot past its gating event, while noting that its CE mark status, exact installed-system count, and the more-than-1,100-patients figure are not independently verified.
Verified vs. claimed
- Maturity stage
- commercial(Commercially deployed with revenue-generating operations.)
- Sources on file
- View all sources →
Key facts
Form factor
FDA clearance
Patients treated
Funding
AI feature
Specs
Notes
Console
Products
Form Factor
Fda clearance
Clearance body
Procedure types
Data & sources
Press releases
1
Government records
1
Web sources
2
4 sources backing this record.View all →
Availability and pricing
- Availability
- Not sold (internal use)
- Price
- $300K to $800K (analyst estimate)as of 2025-01-01
- Units in field
- Not disclosed
- Sales model
- Not disclosed
- Lead time
- Not disclosed
Pricing
One-time purchase
$300,000 - $800,000 USDanalyst estimateas of 2025-01-01
Source: How Much is a Surgical Robot? (2025 Edition) – R2 Surgical
Price status: actual-sale-price = real published price at time of sale; manufacturer-target = vendor target, not yet realized; analyst-estimate = third-party projection, not a vendor figure; not-announced = no price on record.
Prices verified as of Jan 1, 2025
Deployments (1)
- Maestro at Jacksonvilleoperational
Baptist Health in Jacksonville, Florida became the first US site to use the Moon Surgical Maestro system clinically, in September 2023.
Maestro on the deployment map
View the global mapWhere Maestro is verified operating. Explore the deployment map by place and type.
Recent activity
Every change to this record is dated, sourced, and independently verified where marked.
- Verified media addedVerifiedJun 4, 2026
Maestro Overview
- Record createdJun 3, 2026
Added to the verified registry
- Price point recorded: $300,000-$800,000Jan 1, 2025
Analyst estimate
- Deployment verifiedVerifiedSep 26, 2023
at Jacksonville
Deployment-verified media (1)
Moon Surgical's overview of its Maestro surgical-assistance system. Maestro is operated by the surgical team; its ScoPilot feature automates scope and camera movement, not the surgery.
From deployment: Jacksonville
Regulatory filings (3)
- fda_510kfda 510k · us_fdacleared
- K240598fda 510k · us_fdacleared2024-03-04
Applicant: Moon Surgical
- K240598fda 510k · us_fdacleared2024-01-01
Applicant: Moon Surgical
Safety record
No incidents on record for Maestro.
Only active incidents are counted. Retracted incidents are excluded from this summary but remain reachable at their canonical URLs.
Sources (4)
Compare Maestro
Common questions
What is Maestro?
How much does Maestro cost?
Is Maestro actually deployed in the real world?
Is Maestro autonomous or teleoperated?
Who makes Maestro?
Where is Maestro deployed?
Can you buy Maestro?
Is Maestro FDA cleared?
What are alternatives to Maestro?
How does Maestro compare to da Vinci (and Ion)?
Is Maestro a top surgical?
What is Maestro's maturity stage?
Is Maestro safe?
Methodology: Claimed (not regulatorily cleared) · 4 sources (2 primary) · last reviewed 2026-10-10
Verification posture
Claimed (not regulatorily cleared)
Cap-flag required
Review state
Drift-flagged
Last reviewed 2026-10-10
1 anchored drift pattern(s); see cap_flags
Maturity + lifecycle
Maturity stage: commercial
Lifecycle: active
Architectural position
Cohort: surgical
Sources by quality tier
- 2
- unclassified
- Unclassified source
- 1
- primary-company-ir
- Company IR disclosure
- 1
- primary-fda-database
- FDA database
Cap flags
Claim: Moon Surgical Maestro received FDA clearance in December 2023
Honest status: Moon Surgical Maestro received FDA 510(k) clearance K240598 on June 5, 2024. December 2023 dates circulating in aggregator content are aggregator drift.
Moon Maestro FDA clearance is K240598 on June 5, 2024, not December 2023.
The framework is documented at /methodology. Corrections at /corrections. Reviewer: DEPLOY editorial team.
Methodology surface for Maestro.Recent coverage
Maestro in third-party press
Attention vs reality over time
Media mentions per month (area) against verified deployment events (dots). A press spike over a flat deployment line is the hype gap, drawn over time.
In the press
Recent coverage mentioning Maestro from third-party publications. Automatically surfaced; not part of the verified registry record.
Collibra brings runtime governance to enterprise AI agents
Runtime governance is becoming critical as autonomous agents move from answering questions to taking action across enterprise systems. Organizations need to govern both the…
Ryuichi Sakamoto’s final memoir lays bare a maestro’s final questions
The late composer's memoir, translated into English by Sam Bett, details his early life, fascination with music, career highlights and musings on time and life.
Moon Surgical wins first FDA 510(k) clearance for surgical robot
Moon Surgical received its first FDA 510(k) clearance for its surgical robot, advancing laparoscopic surgical assistance technology.
Moon Surgical wins FDA clearance for Maestro
Moon Surgical won FDA clearance for Maestro, its surgical robotics system. Referenced in SAGES white paper on regulating digital surgery.
Machine-readable surfaces
- Markdown mirror: /models/moon-maestro.md
- JSON-LD: embedded in this page’s head
- REST API: /v1/models/d1fd6d55-bf1a-45e2-9612-d40019d2d867
- Revision history: /models/moon-maestro/history
- Data documentation: /data
- Query this programmatically: Deploy MCP
Buyer-facing pricing: deploy.report/price/moon-maestro
Reality vs attention
Maestro draws attention at the 54th percentile but verifies reality at the 6th percentile among surgical robots. Hype Gap +47.4, 6th widest among surgical robots.
6-month trend
Analysis
Thin deployment record; scale validation still in progress.
Signal flags
Dimension breakdown
Verified signal
Attention (reach, not merit)
DEPLOY Intelligence scores are computed from verified registry data: confirmed deployments, disclosed funding rounds, regulatory filings, active job listings, video viewership, and press coverage. Confidence ratings reflect data availability. Scores update nightly.
DEPLOY Indices — verified vs claimed
Last computed: Oct 17, 2026