DEPLOYDatabase

Robot model

AI Pin

wearablecommercialby Humane
$24/monthverifiedas of Nov 2024

Humane AI Pin was a wearable AI companion device launched at $199, designed as a smartphone alternative.

Manufacturer
Humane
Form factor
wearable
Maturity
commercial
Lifecycle
discontinued
Deployments
1

The verified answer

As of Sep 2026, DEPLOY verifies AI Pin, a wearable by Humane (commercial): 1 verified deployment on record. 9 sources back the record.

discontinuedDiscontinued. The product or service is no longer actively pursued by the maker.

Overview

Humane AI Pin was a wearable AI companion device launched at $199, designed as a smartphone alternative. Discontinued in February 2025 after disappointing reviews and low sales (~10K units). Humane sold its assets to HP for $116M. The AI Pin is no longer functional — service was terminated for all buyers.

Verified vs. claimed

Maturity stage
commercial(Commercially deployed with revenue-generating operations.)
Sources on file
View all sources →

Key facts

Price

$199 one-time + $24/month subscription (discontinued; service ended Feb 2025)

Launch date

April 2024

Form factor

wearable (screenless, voice-first, magnetic clip)

Interface

voice + laser ink projector; no screen

Recall units

~10,500 Charge Cases (lithium-battery fire hazard)

Acquisition price

~$116 million (HP acquired Humane assets, February 2025)

Server shutdown

February 28, 2025

Lifecycle state

discontinued

Status

DISCONTINUED — service ended February 2025

Units sold

Approximately 10,000 (well below expectations)

Acquirer

HP acquired assets for $116M

Specs

Notes

Verified: Launched Apr 2024 at $499 + $24/mo; screenless, voice-first, laser-projector UI on T-Mobile cellular. Reviews were scathing (The Verge 'not even close'; MKBHD 'worst product I've reviewed... for now'). A CPSC recall covered ~10,500 Charge Cases for a lithium-battery fire hazard., Discontinued (verified): HP acquired Humane's assets (CosmOS software, patents, team) for ~$116M in February 2025; the AI Pin's servers were shut down Feb 28 2025, bricking cloud/cellular features. A limited 90-day refund window applied. The product is non-functional and no longer sold., Claimed (third-party, not Humane-disclosed): Industry estimates of under 10,000 units shipped against a reported 100,000 target, and 'returns outpaced sales,' are journalist/analyst figures (Bloomberg/TechCrunch); Humane never published official sales totals., Honest absence: No official Humane sales figures; the support domain itself is decaying post-shutdown. The registry records this as the canonical capability-claim-vs-verified-execution failure case., Category: AI-native wearable; form_factor=wearable. Cautionary cohort exemplar (commercial product, then discontinued) alongside Limitless (Meta-acquired, hardware ended).

Launch

April 2024 at $499 (plus $24/month subscription); $699 variant

Battery

4 h

Interface

voice + laser ink projector (hand-projected display); no screen

Weight kg

0.034

Form Factor

wearable (screenless voice-first AI pin, magnetic clip)

Data & sources

Press releases

1

News coverage

4

Web sources

4

9 sources backing this record.View all →

Availability and pricing

Availability
Discontinued
Price
$24 (actual sale price)as of 2024-11-01
Units in field
Not disclosed
Sales model
Not disclosed
Lead time
Not disclosed

Pricing

Monthly subscription

$24 USDactual sale priceas of 2024-11-01

Price status: actual-sale-price = real published price at time of sale; manufacturer-target = vendor target, not yet realized; analyst-estimate = third-party projection, not a vendor figure; not-announced = no price on record.

Prices verified as of Nov 1, 2024

Deployments (1)

Free to use on your site, with a link back to DEPLOY.

AI Pin on the deployment map

View the global map

Where AI Pin is verified operating. Explore the deployment map by place and type.

Free to use on your site, with a link back to DEPLOY.

Recent activity

Every change to this record is dated, sourced, and independently verified where marked.

Full change history →

Deployment-verified media (1)

PRIMARY SOURCE
Courtesy of Humane

Humane's introduction of the AI Pin, a screenless wearable. DISCONTINUED: Humane's assets were acquired by HP and the AI Pin's cloud servers shut down in February 2025; the product was a widely-cited case of marketing outpacing shipped functionality.

From deployment: San Francisco

Safety record

1 recall on record (1 serious). Most recent: Jan 2025.

serious
1

Most recent: Jan 2025

Only active incidents are counted. Retracted incidents are excluded from this summary but remain reachable at their canonical URLs.

Incidents affecting AI Pin (1)

Includes incidents linked directly to this model or to deployments of it. Retracted incidents are excluded from this view but remain reachable at their canonical URLs.

Sources (9)

  1. https://techcrunch.com/2025/02/18/humanes-ai-pin-is-dead-as-hp-buys-startups-assets-for-116m/
  2. https://www.axios.com/2025/02/18/humane-ai-pin-shut-down-hp
  3. https://fortune.com/2025/02/19/hp-humane-deal-ai-pin-shutting-down/
  4. https://www.theverge.com/24126502/humane-ai-pin-review
  5. https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2025/Humane-Recalls-Charge-Case-Accessory-for-Ai-Pin-Due-to-Lithium-Battery-Fire-Hazard
  6. https://www.fastcompany.com/91220472/humane-ai-pin-recall-chargers
  7. https://support.humane.com/hc/en-us/articles/34243204841997-Ai-Pin-Consumers-FAQ
  8. https://techcrunch.com/2025/02/18/humanes-ai-pin-is-dead-as-hp-buys-startups-assets-for-116m/
  9. https://www.ifixit.com/Device/Humane_AI_Pin

Common questions

What is AI Pin?
Humane AI Pin was a wearable AI companion device launched at $199, designed as a smartphone alternative. Discontinued in February 2025 after disappointing reviews and low sales (~10K units). Humane sold its assets to HP for $116M. The AI Pin is no longer functional — service was terminated for all buyers.
How much does AI Pin cost?
AI Pin is listed at $24 (monthly subscription) on the DEPLOY registry. This is an actual sale price on record.
Is AI Pin actually deployed in the real world?
Yes. AI Pin is independently verified in real-world operation on the DEPLOY registry, confirmed at named deployment sites with primary sources: not a concept, render, or demo-only.
What are the specs of AI Pin?
AI Pin's recorded specifications on the DEPLOY registry: Battery: 4 h; Weight: 0.034 kg. See the Specs section for the full sourced set.
Who makes AI Pin?
AI Pin is made by Humane, based in San Francisco, CA, founded in 2018.
Where is AI Pin deployed?
1 verified deployment of AI Pin is on the DEPLOY registry, including at San Francisco.
Can you buy AI Pin?
AI Pin is discontinued and no longer sold; its historical record remains on the DEPLOY registry.
What are alternatives to AI Pin?
On the DEPLOY registry, comparable wearable robots to AI Pin include Synchron Stentrode, Bee AI Wearable, Bee Pioneer, Esper Hand.
How does AI Pin compare to Synchron Stentrode?
AI Pin and Synchron Stentrode (Synchron · 5 deployments) are both wearable robots on the DEPLOY registry. AI Pin has 1 verified deployment on record. Compare both records for specs, safety, deployments, and verified-vs-claimed autonomy.
Is AI Pin a top wearable?
On DEPLOY's intelligence score, which blends verified deployments, safety, adoption, media, and IP signals, AI Pin ranks in roughly the top 70% of wearable models tracked by the registry.
What is AI Pin's maturity stage?
AI Pin is at the commercial stage on the DEPLOY maturity ladder (research, prototype, pilot, commercial, production). Commercial stage means production-grade deployments are operating at named customer sites.
Is AI Pin still being made?
AI Pin is discontinued: the product line is permanently ceased; historical records remain on the registry.
Is AI Pin safe?
AI Pin has 1 active incident on record in the DEPLOY registry. 1 recall on record (1 serious). Most recent: Jan 2025. Retracted incidents are excluded from this count.
What happened to the Humane AI Pin?
Humane discontinued sales of its $499 AI Pin in February 2025. HP bought Humane's assets for $116M. On February 28, 2025, AI Pins stopped connecting to Humane's servers, rendering the devices non-functional. The product was one of the most high-profile wearable AI failures.
Methodology: Verified · 9 sources (1 primary) · last reviewed 2026-07-22

Verification posture

Verified

High confidence

Review state

Stable

Last reviewed 2026-07-22

Maturity + lifecycle

Maturity stage: commercial

Lifecycle: discontinued

Architectural position

Cohort: wearable

Sources by quality tier

4
secondary-industry-publication
Industry publication
4
unclassified
Unclassified source
1
primary-company-ir
Company IR disclosure

The framework is documented at /methodology. Corrections at /corrections. Reviewer: DEPLOY editorial team.

Methodology surface for AI Pin.

Recent coverage

AI Pin in third-party press