Robot model
Omi
Omi, by Based Hardware (founder and CEO Nik Shevchenko, a Thiel Fellow, in San Francisco, with about $700,000 raised), is a shipping AI necklace in the…
- Manufacturer
- Based Hardware
- Form factor
- wearable
- Maturity
- commercial
- Lifecycle
- active
- Deployments
- 1
The verified answer
As of Sep 2026, DEPLOY verifies Omi, a wearable by Based Hardware (commercial): 1 verified deployment on record. 4 sources back the record.
Overview
Omi, by Based Hardware (founder and CEO Nik Shevchenko, a Thiel Fellow, in San Francisco, with about $700,000 raised), is a shipping AI necklace in the ambient-recording 'second brain' category: a small circular orb worn on a neck lanyard that captures conversations and runs them through GPT-4o for ambient transcription in more than 25 languages, auto-summaries and tasks, a searchable memory database, daily recaps, and a Brain Map. It sells for $89 as a consumer unit or about $70 as a dev unit, with a free tier of unlimited on-device transcription plus 1,200 cloud minutes a month and an Omi Unlimited plan from $16 a month, on a hardware-sale-plus-subscription model where the user owns the device.
It is one of the few genuinely open-hardware entries in the cohort, with an MIT-licensed GitHub repository of around 12,700 stars containing firmware, mobile and desktop apps, a backend, and open hardware designs, actively maintained into 2026. A disambiguation worth recording: Omi is distinct from Friend, Avi Schiffmann's AI companion pendant already in the registry, since Shevchenko's device was originally also called Friend and was renamed Omi after Schiffmann's competing device acquired the friend.com domain.
The AI is genuine cloud functionality rather than veneer. A significant cap-flag applies to the aspirational marketing: CES 2025 headlines describing a brain interface that reads your mind via neural signal are unverified, with TechCrunch explicitly unable to verify the brain interface, the shipping product being audio-only, and the brain-computer-interface module remaining a 2026-2027 roadmap item with no EEG implementation in the open repository, so all neural and mind-reading claims are treated as aspirational.
Verified vs. claimed
- Maturity stage
- commercial(Commercially deployed with revenue-generating operations.)
- Sources on file
- View all sources →
Key facts
Price
Subscription
Form factor
Sensor suite
Supported languages
Specs
Notes
Specs
Form Factor
Data & sources
Press releases
1
News coverage
1
Web sources
2
4 sources backing this record.View all →
Availability and pricing
- Availability
- Shipping now
- Price
- $19 (actual sale price)as of 2026-01-01
- Units in field
- Not disclosed
- Sales model
- Not disclosed
- Lead time
- Not disclosed
Pricing
Monthly subscription
$19 USDactual sale priceas of 2026-01-01
History
- 2026-01$17actual sale price
Price status: actual-sale-price = real published price at time of sale; manufacturer-target = vendor target, not yet realized; analyst-estimate = third-party projection, not a vendor figure; not-announced = no price on record.
Prices verified as of Jan 1, 2026
Deployments (1)
- Omi at Globaloperational
Based Hardware Omi AI wearable aggregate global deployment.
Omi on the deployment map
View the global mapWhere Omi is verified operating. Explore the deployment map by place and type.
Recent activity
Every change to this record is dated, sourced, and independently verified where marked.
- Verified media addedVerifiedJun 5, 2026
Omi open-source AI pendant
- Record createdJun 3, 2026
Added to the verified registry
- Price point recorded: $19VerifiedJan 1, 2026
Actual sale price
- Price point recorded: $17VerifiedJan 1, 2026
Actual sale price
- Price point recorded: $89VerifiedJan 8, 2025
Actual sale price
Deployment-verified media (1)
Omi's (Based Hardware) launch video for its open-source AI pendant. Distinct from the separate 'Friend' pendant company; the software is open-source.
From deployment: Global
Safety record
No incidents on record for Omi.
Only active incidents are counted. Retracted incidents are excluded from this summary but remain reachable at their canonical URLs.
Sources (4)
Compare Omi
Common questions
What is Omi?
How much does Omi cost?
Is Omi actually deployed in the real world?
Who makes Omi?
Where is Omi deployed?
Can you buy Omi?
What are alternatives to Omi?
How does Omi compare to Synchron Stentrode?
Is Omi a top wearable?
What is Omi's maturity stage?
Is Omi safe?
What is the Omi AI wearable?
Methodology: Verified · 4 sources (1 primary) · last reviewed 2026-06-28
Verification posture
Verified
High confidence
Review state
Stable
Last reviewed 2026-06-28
Maturity + lifecycle
Maturity stage: commercial
Lifecycle: active
Architectural position
Cohort: wearable
Sources by quality tier
- 1
- secondary-industry-publication
- Industry publication
- 1
- code-repository
- Code repository
- 1
- primary-company-ir
- Company IR disclosure
- 1
- unclassified
- Unclassified source
The framework is documented at /methodology. Corrections at /corrections. Reviewer: DEPLOY editorial team.
Methodology surface for Omi.Recent coverage
Omi in third-party press
Attention vs reality over time
Media mentions per month (area) against verified deployment events (dots). A press spike over a flat deployment line is the hype gap, drawn over time.
In the press
Recent coverage mentioning Omi from third-party publications. Automatically surfaced; not part of the verified registry record.
Surviving the paper deluge: Notes from an ICRA panel on publishing, LLMs, and the future of peer review
A recent ICRA panel titled “Surviving the Paper Deluge” brought together leading robotics researchers who have grappled with the overwhelming number of robotics papers being…
Xiaomi sets September 7 launch for 18 Fold foldable phone
Xiaomi has scheduled its autumn flagship product event for 7 p.m. Beijing time on Sept. 7, where it is expected to launch the Xiaomi 18 Fold foldable phone, the Xiaomi Pad 9 Pro…
Astra: OpenAI Classifies Its Upcoming Model as „Critical“ for Cybersecurity
OpenAI has classified its upcoming model Astra as „Critical“ for cybersecurity, the highest tier in its own Preparedness Framework. In practice that means Astra can find…
HHNGAS:Profit target hit. The Freeport Pin was pulled.
This video consists of an update of the Henry Hub Natural Gas trade strategy that was presented on 25 August 2026 when a bull flag pattern with the flag pole from $3.20 to $2.60,…
Chicago Fed’s Austan Goolsbee wants to get back to ‘old school’ economics: Focused on ordinary Americans, mindful of AI hype, and sharp on inflation
EXCLUSIVE: "If there were going to be something that shook the consumers, it would shake the economy," President Goolsbee tells Fortune.
Cyprus’s AI Strategy 2032: The Real Test Is Not Adoption, But Measurable Impact
Cyprus has moved from debating whether to adopt artificial intelligence to deciding how to turn it into measurable economic value. The National AI Strategy 2032 sets priorities…
Gen Z can’t figure out how to talk to their millennial and Gen X bosses—and it’s becoming a workplace crisis
From email etiquette to office jargon, the unwritten rules of workplace communication are getting harder to read across generations.
Xi returns to transformed Middle East for first Egypt visit in 10 years
The Chinese leader is coming back to a region convulsed by war and with U.S. economic weapons once again deployed against Tehran.
G20 finance chiefs — except China — back action on distorted trade
China's massive export push has pressured economies across the globe, especially as the U.S. has imposed high tariffs on Chinese goods.
A year later, details emerge in unsolved Burning Man homicide
A little more than a year after the first homicide in Burning Man history, new details have emerged in the unsolved case as the sheriff warns this year's festivalgoers to stay…
‘The Trial of Alec Baldwin,’ Rory Kennedy Doc About Titular Actor in ‘Rust’ Shooting Aftermath, Acquired by Abramorama (Exclusive)
The film, for which the Oscar-nominated documentarian was granted exclusive access to the titular star over several years, will be released in the U.S. in October.
Anthropic promises zero data retention – but customers must check it worked
More compliance-friendly stance could boost appeal of Fable
Machine-readable surfaces
- Markdown mirror: /models/omi.md
- JSON-LD: embedded in this page’s head
- REST API: /v1/models/5da80fdb-1f24-4b99-bcac-205516c9dc9e
- Revision history: /models/omi/history
- Data documentation: /data
- Query this programmatically: Deploy MCP
Buyer-facing pricing: deploy.report/price/omi
Video
ussian FPV drone strikes a rare Ukrainian Humvee-based Grad MLRS in Dobropillia — a shoot-and-scoot tactic caught just in time. Real combat footage from the Rus
Reality vs attention
Omi draws attention at the 93rd percentile but verifies reality at the 24th percentile among wearable robots. Hype Gap +69.6, 2nd widest among wearable robots.
6-month trend
Analysis
Strong recent media coverage and press activity. Thin deployment record; scale validation still in progress.
Signal flags
Dimension breakdown
Verified signal
Attention (reach, not merit)
DEPLOY Intelligence scores are computed from verified registry data: confirmed deployments, disclosed funding rounds, regulatory filings, active job listings, video viewership, and press coverage. Confidence ratings reflect data availability. Scores update nightly.
DEPLOY Indices — verified vs claimed
Last computed: Sep 2, 2026