DEPLOYDatabase

Robot model

r1

$199verifiedas of Jun 2026

The Rabbit R1 is a $199 pocket AI companion device with unlimited AI conversations, translation, and voice recordings.

Manufacturer
Rabbit Inc
Form factor
wearable
Maturity
pilot
Lifecycle
active
Deployments
1

The verified answer

As of Sep 2026, DEPLOY verifies r1, a wearable by Rabbit Inc (pilot): 1 verified deployment on record. 9 sources back the record.

Overview

The Rabbit R1 is a $199 pocket AI companion device with unlimited AI conversations, translation, and voice recordings. Launched in 2024, it sold approximately 100,000 units but faced mass returns and critical reviews. No subscription required — one-time purchase.

Verified vs. claimed

Maturity stage
pilot(Small-scale deployment in controlled or trial conditions.)
Sources on file
View all sources →

Key facts

Price

$199 one-time, no subscription required

Form factor

wearable / pocket AI companion device (handheld)

Units sold

~100,000 (with high return rates)

Active users

~5,000 of ~100,000 buyers active at any moment (The Verge, Sept 2024)

Launch

Unveiled CES January 2024

Status

On sale but struggling — mass returns, payroll issues reported

Pricing model

One-time device purchase (no subscription)

Specs

Notes

Verified: Unveiled CES Jan 2024 at $199 (Jesse Lyu, Teenage Engineering design). Pitched a 'Large Action Model' (LAM). Independent investigation (Android Authority) reproducibly showed the device runs a single Android 13 launcher app, contradicting the bespoke-OS/LAM framing., Commercial go-to-market (mixed tiering): Rabbit self-reported 100,000+ units sold (company claim, unaudited). The Verge reported only ~5,000 of ~100,000 buyers were active at any moment (Sept 2024). So it shipped at retail scale, but verified functional usage and the marketed capability fell well short - hence registry maturity=pilot (capability-grade), with the commercial distribution facts recorded here., Still active (verified): Rabbit continues shipping software: teach mode (2024), rabbitOS 2 (Sept 2025), rabbitOS 2.1 (Apr 2026), generative UI / agentic features. The product is NOT dead (lifecycleState=active)., Claimed / contested: Late-2025/2026 reports (Tom's Guide) that employees went unpaid for months and a strike began are third-party, employee-sourced, and disputed by the company (which claims a signed financing term sheet). No wire/SEC corroboration. Treat as reported-not-established., Category: AI-native wearable; form_factor=wearable. Canonical capability-claims-vs-verified-execution case alongside Humane AI Pin.

Design

bright orange square handheld with scroll wheel + camera; Teenage Engineering design

Launch

unveiled CES January 2024 at $199; no subscription

Battery

1000 mAh

Weight kg

0.115

Form Factor

wearable / pocket AI companion device (handheld)

Data & sources

Press releases

4

Web sources

5

9 sources backing this record.View all →

Availability and pricing

Availability
Shipping now
Price
$199 (actual sale price)as of 2026-06-17
Units in field
Not disclosed
Sales model
Not disclosed
Lead time
Not disclosed

Pricing

One-time purchase

$199 USDactual sale priceas of 2026-06-17

History

Price status: actual-sale-price = real published price at time of sale; manufacturer-target = vendor target, not yet realized; analyst-estimate = third-party projection, not a vendor figure; not-announced = no price on record.

Prices verified as of Jun 17, 2026

Deployments (1)

  • Rabbit R1 AI companion device: honest-absence on meaningful deployment.

Free to use on your site, with a link back to DEPLOY.

r1 on the deployment map

View the global map

Where r1 is verified operating. Explore the deployment map by place and type.

Free to use on your site, with a link back to DEPLOY.

Recent activity

Every change to this record is dated, sourced, and independently verified where marked.

Full change history →

Deployment-verified media (1)

PRIMARY SOURCE
Courtesy of Rabbit

Rabbit's launch presentation of the R1, a standalone AI device with a 'Large Action Model.' The action-model capabilities are Rabbit's launch-demo claims, widely criticized as underdelivering at launch.

From deployment: Santa Monica

Safety record

No incidents on record for r1.

Only active incidents are counted. Retracted incidents are excluded from this summary but remain reachable at their canonical URLs.

Sources (9)

  1. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rabbit_r1
  2. https://www.rabbit.tech/newsroom/quarterly-update-2024-q1
  3. https://www.rabbit.tech/updates
  4. https://www.engadget.com/rabbit-r1-review-a-199-ai-toy-that-fails-at-almost-everything-161043050.html
  5. https://www.androidauthority.com/rabbit-r1-is-an-android-app-3438805/
  6. https://www.androidauthority.com/rabbit-r1-android-13-3438954/
  7. https://www.rabbit.tech/newsroom/rabbitos-2-launch
  8. https://www.tomsguide.com/ai/whats-next-for-rabbit-employees-say-they-havent-been-paid-for-months-while-company-teases-new-ai-hardware
  9. https://www.rabbit.tech/support/article/what-is-rabbit-r1

Compare r1

Common questions

What is r1?
The Rabbit R1 is a $199 pocket AI companion device with unlimited AI conversations, translation, and voice recordings. Launched in 2024, it sold approximately 100,000 units but faced mass returns and critical reviews. No subscription required — one-time purchase.
How much does r1 cost?
r1 is listed at $199 on the DEPLOY registry. This is an actual sale price on record.
Is r1 actually deployed in the real world?
Yes. r1 is independently verified in real-world operation on the DEPLOY registry, confirmed at named deployment sites with primary sources: not a concept, render, or demo-only.
What are the specs of r1?
r1's recorded specifications on the DEPLOY registry: Battery: 1000 mAh; Weight: 0.115 kg. See the Specs section for the full sourced set.
Who makes r1?
r1 is made by Rabbit Inc, based in Los Angeles, California, USA, founded in 2022.
Where is r1 deployed?
1 verified deployment of r1 is on the DEPLOY registry, including at Santa Monica.
Can you buy r1?
r1 is available for purchase - a real sale price is on record (see the pricing section for the figure and its source).
What are alternatives to r1?
On the DEPLOY registry, comparable wearable robots to r1 include Synchron Stentrode, Bee AI Wearable, Bee Pioneer, Esper Hand.
How does r1 compare to Synchron Stentrode?
r1 and Synchron Stentrode (Synchron · 5 deployments) are both wearable robots on the DEPLOY registry. r1 has 1 verified deployment on record. Compare both records for specs, safety, deployments, and verified-vs-claimed autonomy.
Is r1 a top wearable?
On DEPLOY's intelligence score, which blends verified deployments, safety, adoption, media, and IP signals, r1 ranks in roughly the top 61% of wearable models tracked by the registry.
What is r1's maturity stage?
r1 is at the pilot stage on the DEPLOY maturity ladder (research, prototype, pilot, commercial, production). Pilot stage means at least one named-customer trial deployment is verified.
Is r1 safe?
r1 has no incidents on record in the DEPLOY registry. This does not constitute a safety guarantee; it reflects the incidents DEPLOY has tracked and verified to date.
What is the Rabbit R1 AI device?
The Rabbit R1 is a $199 AI-native device that offers unlimited AI conversations, translation, and voice recordings. It is designed as a dedicated AI assistant device, not a phone. Includes a chance to explore cutting-edge AI agents. A walkie-talkie form factor for AI interaction.
Methodology: Verified · 9 sources (4 primary) · last reviewed 2026-07-22

Verification posture

Verified

High confidence

Review state

Stable

Last reviewed 2026-07-22

Maturity + lifecycle

Maturity stage: pilot

Lifecycle: active

Architectural position

Cohort: wearable

Sources by quality tier

4
primary-company-ir
Company IR disclosure
4
unclassified
Unclassified source
1
knowledge-base
Knowledge base

The framework is documented at /methodology. Corrections at /corrections. Reviewer: DEPLOY editorial team.

Methodology surface for r1.

Recent coverage

r1 in third-party press