DEPLOYDatabase

Robot model

Cybercab

avresearchby Tesla

The Tesla Cybercab is a purpose-built two-seat autonomous robotaxi vehicle that Tesla unveiled on October 10 2024 at its 'We, Robot' event.

Manufacturer
Tesla
Form factor
av
Maturity
research
Lifecycle
active
Deployments
6

The verified answer

As of Sep 2026, DEPLOY verifies Cybercab, a av by Tesla (research): 6 verified deployments on record. 11 sources back the record.

Regulatory status2 NHTSA recalls

Cybercab has 2 NHTSA recalls on record; no clearances are recorded in the registry.

See all 2 filings

Overview

The Tesla Cybercab is a purpose-built two-seat autonomous robotaxi vehicle that Tesla unveiled on October 10 2024 at its 'We, Robot' event. It has no steering wheel or pedals, two upward-opening butterfly doors, inductive (wireless) charging with no charge port, and a single roughly 20.5-inch center display, and it relies on Tesla's camera-only Full Self-Driving (no lidar or radar).

Tesla has stated a consumer price target below $30,000 and, on its Q1 2026 earnings call, that Cybercab production has 'just started' with volume production targeted in 2026; Tesla's own Q1 2026 SEC filing characterizes the status as 'Pilot Production' at Giga Texas, and the production-start evidence rests on Tesla's statements and controlled footage rather than independent verification. The Cybercab is NOT the vehicle behind Tesla's deployed Robotaxi service, which launched in Austin in June 2025 on regular Model Y cars with safety monitors.

As of mid-2026 there are no verified consumer transactions, purchase pathway, warranty terms, or real-world Cybercab deployment; the registry records it at research maturity (no verified real-world operation), with production and pricing claims tracked as stated, not demonstrated.

Verified vs. claimed

Maturity stage
research(Lab-stage only; no commercial or public deployment reported.)
Sources on file
View all sources →

Key facts

Seating

2 passengers

Price

Below $30,000 (stated target)

Display

~20.5 inch center touchscreen

Battery range

Planned ~35 kWh / ~200 mi range (Tesla-stated, unverified)

Production status

Pilot Production at Giga Texas (first unit Feb 2026)

FMVSS

Tesla self-certified the Cybercab to FMVSS to bypass NHTSA's 2,500-unit AV exemption cap.

Calibration

Cybercabs retrofitted with steering wheels/pedals for calibration miles before unsupervised operation

Manufacturing

Musk: 'hardest product to scale manufacturing' — everything on the robot is new

Price target

$25,000 per unit (company-reported target)

Operating cost

Sub-$0.20 per mile (company-reported target)

Production rate target

1 per 10 seconds (would be fastest auto production ever)

Production start

April 2026 at Giga Texas

Volume production timeline

SLIPPED — 'volume production' language removed from Q2 2026 shareholder letter. Was targeted for 2026.

App features (v26.6.0)

Gesture-based seat controls, drag climate, hold-to-open powered doors w/ e-stop, phone media remote (music + Netflix)

Cybercab controls

No steering wheel/pedals — gesture seat incline/recline, bench controls, drag climate, powered doors with emergency stop

Public launch (announced)

Aug 2026: Tesla preparing public Cybercab launch in Austin, starting with employee rides on public roads. Winners to attend launch event announced by Aug 25. Regulators don't currently allow commercial steering-wheel-free robotaxis (per Mashable/The Information).

Manufacturing

Unboxed process — large sub-assemblies built in parallel before final merge

JPMorgan intel (Aug 2026)

Tesla holding back Model Y robotaxi conversions, confident in Cybercab near-term scaling

Form factor strategy

Cybercab is initial form factor; additional vehicle types expected (robovan demo referenced)

FSD V15

Step-change upgrade with 7 core technologies, 40% tested in robotaxi fleet. AI4.5: 10% higher FLOPS, 2x memory

Specs

Doors

2 upward-opening butterfly doors (auto-open, no handles)

Lidar

no lidar or radar

Notes

Unveiled: Revealed October 10 2024 at Tesla's 'We, Robot' event (Warner Bros studio); about 20 Cybercab units gave demonstration rides on a closed lot., Design (verified): Purpose-built two-seat robotaxi: no steering wheel or pedals, two butterfly doors, inductive (wireless) charging with no charge port, a single ~20.5-inch center display, no side mirrors or rear window., Price (stated target): Musk stated a consumer price target below $30,000 and an operating-cost claim near $0.20/mile. A target, not a realized price; no consumer order or reservation pathway exists as of mid-2026., Production status (verified-vs-claimed): Tesla's Q1 2026 SEC 10-Q characterizes the Cybercab as 'Pilot Production' at Giga Texas (first unit Feb 2026) - a MANUFACTURING status. On the Q1 2026 earnings call Musk said production has 'just started' and projected volume production in 2026 (a claim/target). Production-start evidence rests on Tesla's own statements and Tesla-controlled footage, not independent verification. Tesla self-certified the Cybercab to FMVSS to bypass NHTSA's 2,500-unit AV exemption cap., Not the deployed robotaxi vehicle: Tesla's actual Robotaxi service (launched Austin, June 2025; see model tesla-robotaxi) runs on regular Model Y vehicles with safety monitors and remote operators, NOT the Cybercab. The Cybercab is the purpose-built vehicle that has not yet entered real-world robotaxi operation. Musk has used 'robotaxi' and 'Cybercab' interchangeably, which is a frequent source of confusion., Autonomy (camera-only FSD): Cybercab relies on Tesla's camera-only Full Self-Driving (no lidar or radar; see brain tesla-fsd-bot). A May 2026 Reuters investigation reported Tesla's FSD safety statistics are methodologically flawed (challenged by 10 of 11 researchers) and that Tesla pre-maps its robotaxi zones, contradicting earlier 'no mapping' claims; unsupervised FSD has faced delays., Tesla product-family disambiguation: Distinct from Tesla Optimus (humanoid; see tesla-optimus) and from Tesla's FSD AI stack (brain tesla-fsd-bot). Cybercab is the purpose-built AV vehicle line; the registry classifies it form_factor=av (NHTSA/DMV-governed road vehicle), cohorting with robotaxi AVs (Waymo, Zoox, Apollo Go) rather than with humanoids., Honest absence (June 2026): No verified consumer transactions, no published purchase pathway, no published warranty or service terms, and no verified real-world Cybercab deployment or deliveries. Registry maturity=research reflects the absence of any verified real-world operation despite early (pilot-stage) manufacturing.

Range

280 mi

Battery

48 kWh

Display

~20.5 inch center touchscreen

Seating

2 passengers

Autonomy

Tesla camera-only Full Self-Driving (FSD); no lidar or radar; 'unsupervised' autonomy intended

Charging

inductive / wireless (no charge port)

Controls

no steering wheel or pedals

Weight kg

1412

Form Factor

av (purpose-built two-seat road robotaxi)

Battery kwh

~35 kWh

Battery Range

planned ~35 kWh / ~200 mi range (Tesla-stated, unverified)

Sensor suite

camera-only Full Self-Driving (no lidar or radar)

Exterior Omissions

no side mirrors, no rear window

Data & sources

Company filings

1

Press releases

1

News coverage

4

Web sources

5

11 sources backing this record.View all →

Availability and pricing

Availability
Announced, no date
Price
$30K (manufacturer target)as of 2024-10-10
Units in field
Not disclosed
Sales model
Not disclosed
Lead time
Not disclosed

Accountability: Tesla has a Claim Integrity of 0% (0 of 4 public claims verified). See the industry ledger.

Claims ledger

Public, dated claims by Tesla, each tracked against the evidence. Status is a DEPLOY assessment from primary sources: verified means an independent source confirms it; contradicted means one refutes it; open means the outcome is not yet determinable. Every entry keeps its verbatim quote and source so you can check the call yourself.

  • OpenCapability · claimed 2026-07-22
    robot_phone_key_pairing_intro_setup_label, robot_phone_key_error_too_many_keys_on_whitelist, robot_phone_key_connected
  • OpenTimeline · claimed 2026-07-22
    Tesla removed language from its Q2 shareholder letter about reaching 'volume production' of the Cybercab in 2026. The company had said as recently as January that Cybercab would reach volume production this year.
  • OpenCapability · claimed 2026-07-22
    Tesla Robotaxi app v26.6.0 de-compile reveals Cybercab preparation: new Cybercab image assets, phone as full media remote (music search + Netflix browsing), gesture-based seat incline/recline + bench controls, drag-to-adjust climate controls, hold-to-open powered doors with emergency stop.
  • OpenCapability · claimed 2026-07-22
    Musk: We need to accumulate miles with Cybercabs that are retrofitted with steering wheels and pedals to calibrate to the Cybercab chassis before unsupervised operation.
Show 2 more claims
  • OpenTimeline · claimed 2026-04-23
    Musk confirmed Cybercab production has officially begun at Giga Texas in April 2026. The first steering-wheel-less unit rolled off the line in February. Volume targeting one per 10 seconds.
  • OpenPrice · claimed 2026-04-23
    Tesla Cybercab priced at $25,000 per unit with sub-$0.20 per mile operating costs.

Disagree with a status? Tesla can submit a correction with evidence and we log the response on the record. Methodology and the full industry ledger live at /stats/claim-integrity.

Reading the cabin-camera claim above in plain English: what a Cybercab records while you ride.

Pricing

One-time purchase

$0 - $30,000 USDmanufacturer targetas of 2024-10-10

Source: Tesla We Robot (Oct 2024)

Price status: actual-sale-price = real published price at time of sale; manufacturer-target = vendor target, not yet realized; analyst-estimate = third-party projection, not a vendor figure; not-announced = no price on record.

Prices verified as of Oct 10, 2024

Deployments (6)

Free to use on your site, with a link back to DEPLOY.

Cybercab on the deployment map

View the global map

Where Cybercab is verified operating. Explore the deployment map by place and type.

Free to use on your site, with a link back to DEPLOY.

Recent activity

Every change to this record is dated, sourced, and independently verified where marked.

Full change history →

Manufacturer-attributed media (2)

Manufacturer-supplied media at the model level. Not tied to an independently verified named-site deployment. Verification posture is product-showcase from the maker, distinct from the deployment-verified evidence in the section above.

PRIMARY SOURCE
Courtesy of Tesla

Tesla's cinematic product film for the Cybercab (design, doors, inductive charging). A concept and marketing piece; 'The Future is Autonomous' is Tesla's slogan, and no real-world driverless operation is demonstrated.

PRIMARY SOURCE
Courtesy of Tesla

Tesla's October 2024 'We, Robot' reveal of the purpose-built two-seat Cybercab (no steering wheel or pedals). The rides shown were given by pre-production units on a closed studio lot, not public-road autonomous operation.

Runs on (1)

Components (1)

Components carry componentClass + safetyCritical flag. ModelComponent rows carry safety_role (primary_safety / backup_safety / monitoring / non_safety) + optional supplier identity.

Regulatory filings (2)

  • 26V255nhtsa recall · us_nhtsarecalled2026-01-01

    Applicant: Tesla

  • 24E-067nhtsa recall · us_nhtsarecalled2024-01-01

    Applicant: Tesla

Safety record

2 recalls and 15 incidents on record (1 catastrophic, 1 critical, 6 serious, 4 moderate, 5 minor). Most recent: Jul 2026.

catastrophic
1
critical
1
serious
6
moderate
4
minor
5
regulatory action
6
collision
4
property damage
2
recall
2
fatality
1
traffic disruption
1
injury
1

Most recent: Jul 2026

Only active incidents are counted. Retracted incidents are excluded from this summary but remain reachable at their canonical URLs.

Incidents affecting Cybercab (17)

Includes incidents linked directly to this model or to deployments of it. Retracted incidents are excluded from this view but remain reachable at their canonical URLs.

Sources (11)

  1. https://www.tesla.com/we-robot
  2. https://techcrunch.com/2024/10/10/tesla-reveals-20-cybercabs-at-we-robot-event/
  3. https://www.cnbc.com/2024/10/10/elon-musk-hypes-a-30000-tesla-cybercab-robovan-at-robotaxi-event.html
  4. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/0001318605/000162828026026551/exhibit991.htm
  5. https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2026-04-24/musk-says-tesla-has-begun-production-of-its-cybercab-robotaxi
  6. https://electrek.co/2026/04/23/tesla-cybercab-production-starts-no-nhtsa-2500-vehicle-cap/
  7. https://news.alphastreet.com/tesla-inc-tsla-q1-2026-earnings-call-transcript/
  8. https://gizmodo.com/whats-the-difference-between-teslas-cybercab-and-robotaxi-2000724073
  9. https://techcrunch.com/2025/06/22/tesla-launches-robotaxi-rides-in-austin-with-big-promises-and-unanswered-questions/
  10. https://electrek.co/2026/05/28/tesla-fsd-safety-stats-misleading-reuters-investigation/
  11. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tesla_Cybercab

Compare Cybercab

Common questions

What is Cybercab?
The Tesla Cybercab is a purpose-built two-seat autonomous robotaxi vehicle that Tesla unveiled on October 10 2024 at its 'We, Robot' event. It has no steering wheel or pedals, two upward-opening butterfly doors, inductive (wireless) charging with no charge port, and a single roughly 20.5-inch center display, and it relies on Tesla's camera-only Full Self-Driving (no lidar or radar). Tesla has stated a consumer price target below $30,000 and, on its Q1 2026 earnings call, that Cybercab production has 'just started' with volume production targeted in 2026; Tesla's own Q1 2026 SEC filing characterizes the status as 'Pilot Production' at Giga Texas, and the production-start evidence rests on Tesla's statements and controlled footage rather than independent verification. The Cybercab is NOT the vehicle behind Tesla's deployed Robotaxi service, which launched in Austin in June 2025 on regular Model Y cars with safety monitors. As of mid-2026 there are no verified consumer transactions, purchase pathway, warranty terms, or real-world Cybercab deployment; the registry records it at research maturity (no verified real-world operation), with production and pricing claims tracked as stated, not demonstrated.
How much does Cybercab cost?
Cybercab is listed at $30,000 on the DEPLOY registry. This is a manufacturer target price, not a confirmed consumer price.
Is Cybercab actually deployed in the real world?
Yes. Cybercab is independently verified in real-world operation on the DEPLOY registry, confirmed at named deployment sites with primary sources: not a concept, render, or demo-only.
Is Cybercab autonomous or teleoperated?
Not verified as fully autonomous. Cybercab's capabilities on the DEPLOY registry are recorded as teleoperated-assisted, demonstrated-only, or vendor claims (Transports passengers), not independently confirmed to run without a human in the loop.
What are the specs of Cybercab?
Cybercab's recorded specifications on the DEPLOY registry: Range: 280 mi; Battery: 48 kWh; Weight: 1412 kg. See the Specs section for the full sourced set.
Who makes Cybercab?
Cybercab is made by Tesla, based in Austin, Texas, USA, founded in 2003.
Where is Cybercab deployed?
6 verified deployments of Cybercab are on the DEPLOY registry, including at Austin, Texas, USA, Las Vegas, Nevada, USA.
Can you buy Cybercab?
Cybercab is at research stage and is not yet available for sale.
Is Cybercab approved by regulators?
Cybercab has 2 regulatory records on the DEPLOY registry: NHTSA recall (26V255), recalled; NHTSA recall (24E-067), recalled. See the Regulatory filings section for each agency source.
What AI powers Cybercab?
Cybercab runs Tesla FSD-Bot. Each brain assignment is verified at the registry level via primary sources.
What are alternatives to Cybercab?
On the DEPLOY registry, comparable av robots to Cybercab include Waymo Driver (6th gen), Zoox Robotaxi, Tesla Robotaxi (Model Y ADS), May Mobility Autonomous Sienna.
How does Cybercab compare to Waymo Driver (6th gen)?
Cybercab and Waymo Driver (6th gen) (Waymo · 52 deployments) are both av robots on the DEPLOY registry. Cybercab has 6 verified deployments on record. Compare both records for specs, safety, deployments, and verified-vs-claimed autonomy.
Is Cybercab a top av?
On DEPLOY's intelligence score, which blends verified deployments, safety, adoption, media, and IP signals, Cybercab ranks in roughly the top 59% of av models tracked by the registry.
What is Cybercab's maturity stage?
Cybercab is at the research stage on the DEPLOY maturity ladder (research, prototype, pilot, commercial, production). Research stage means active development without commercial deployments on file.
Is Cybercab safe?
Cybercab has 17 active incidents on record in the DEPLOY registry. 2 recalls and 15 incidents on record (1 catastrophic, 1 critical, 6 serious, 4 moderate, 5 minor). Most recent: Jul 2026. Retracted incidents are excluded from this count.
What is the Tesla Cybercab?
The Tesla Cybercab is a purpose-built fully autonomous vehicle with no steering wheel or pedals, priced at $30,000. Tesla commenced production in February 2026. The Cybercab is designed to offer robotaxi rides in your area in the future via the Tesla Robotaxi service.
Methodology: Verified · 11 sources (2 primary) · last reviewed 2026-08-20

Verification posture

Verified

High confidence

Review state

Stable

Last reviewed 2026-08-20

Maturity + lifecycle

Maturity stage: research

Lifecycle: active

Architectural position

Cohort: av

Sources by quality tier

4
unclassified
Unclassified source
2
secondary-industry-publication
Industry publication
2
secondary-established-publication
Established publication
1
primary-company-ir
Company IR disclosure
1
primary-sec-filing
SEC filing
1
knowledge-base
Knowledge base

The framework is documented at /methodology. Corrections at /corrections. Reviewer: DEPLOY editorial team.

Methodology surface for Cybercab.

Recent coverage

Cybercab in third-party press

Runs on

Chip integration for Cybercab sourced from public claims. See every AI chip on record for the full catalog.