Robot model
Versius
CMR Surgical (founded 2014, Cambridge, UK; private) makes Versius, the genuine challenger among surgical-robot startups and the one that has clearly crossed…
- Manufacturer
- CMR Surgical
- Form factor
- surgical
- Maturity
- commercial
- Lifecycle
- active
- Deployments
- 5
The verified answer
As of Sep 2026, DEPLOY verifies Versius, a surgical by CMR Surgical (commercial): 5 verified deployments on record. 5 sources back the record.
Versius holds 2 FDA De Novo authorizations and 1 FDA 510(k) clearance, per the DEPLOY registry.
See all 3 filingsOverview
CMR Surgical (founded 2014, Cambridge, UK; private) makes Versius, the genuine challenger among surgical-robot startups and the one that has clearly crossed the regulatory gating event. Versius is a modular multi-arm teleoperated soft-tissue robot that is heavily software-driven, capturing telematic, video, and outcome data. It received US FDA De Novo marketing authorization in October 2024, the first such authorization for a multi-port soft-tissue general-surgery robot, followed by an FDA 510(k) clearance for the next-generation Versius Plus on December 18, 2025 with US commercialization on track for 2026, and a pending gynecology 510(k) submitted on April 29, 2026; it has long been CE-marked and commercial across Europe, Latin America, the Africa-Middle-East region, and Australia, with more than 40,000 procedures completed outside the US by company reporting.
The registry records it at commercial maturity with an active lifecycle. An important current-state correction: the 2021 roughly $3 billion SoftBank-led valuation story is frozen in time, the company went through real restructuring in 2023 with about 350 redundancies, and it was recapitalized with more than $200 million in April 2025, while reported figures of a roughly $3.1 billion 2025 valuation and a potential $4 billion sale are rumor-tier aggregator claims that are not registered.
On AI substance the shipped reality is a data-capture and analytics ecosystem with the surgeon in full control; the physical-AI framing is forward-looking, anchored in a March 2026 NVIDIA IGX Thor partnership to evaluate AI for a future Versius, with no autonomous or AI-assisted intraoperative feature cleared or shipped.
Verified vs. claimed
- Maturity stage
- commercial(Commercially deployed with revenue-generating operations.)
- Sources on file
- View all sources →
Key facts
Form factor
Procedures completed
FDA authorization
Recapitalization
Restructuring
Specs
Arms
Notes
Products
Form Factor
Fda clearance
Clearance body
Procedure types
Data & sources
Press releases
2
News coverage
1
Web sources
2
5 sources backing this record.View all →
Availability and pricing
- Availability
- Not sold (internal use)
- Price
- $750K to $1M (analyst estimate)as of 2024-01-01
- Units in field
- Not disclosed
- Sales model
- Not disclosed
- Lead time
- Not disclosed
Pricing
One-time purchase
$750,000 - $1,000,000 USDanalyst estimateas of 2024-01-01
Source: How Much is a Surgical Robot? — R2 Surgical industry pricing guide
Price status: actual-sale-price = real published price at time of sale; manufacturer-target = vendor target, not yet realized; analyst-estimate = third-party projection, not a vendor figure; not-announced = no price on record.
Prices verified as of Jan 1, 2024
Deployments (5)
Versius Plus FDA clearance Dec 2025.
- Versius at Italyoperational
Policlinico di Milano became the first public hospital in Italy to use the Versius Surgical Robotic System, performing cholecystectomy, lower anterior resection, and other minimally invasive procedures.
- Versius at Australiaoperational
Macquarie University Hospital introduced the Versius robotics arm for keyhole surgery in 2021, following TGA approval.
- Versius at Indiaoperational
Versius has been installed across approximately 10 or more hospitals in India, including Apollo and Aster facilities, following CDSCO approval for laparoscopic surgery.
- Versius at United Kingdomoperational
Versius surgical robot systems have been deployed at multiple UK NHS hospitals, including Royal Papworth Hospital for thoracic surgery, Addenbrooke's Hospital, and Milton Keynes University Hospital, the latter of which…
Versius on the deployment map
View the global mapWhere Versius is verified operating. Explore the deployment map by place and type.
Recent activity
Every change to this record is dated, sourced, and independently verified where marked.
- Incident recordedJul 1, 2026
FDA clears CMR Surgical Versius Plus robotic surgical system for gallbladder removal...
- Incident recordedJun 9, 2026
CMR Surgical recalls Versius Surgical System consoles due to Secure Boot cybersecurity...
- Verified media addedVerifiedJun 5, 2026
CMR Versius Plus
- Verified media addedVerifiedJun 5, 2026
Versius robotic cholecystectomy
- Verified media addedVerifiedJun 4, 2026
Introducing Versius
Deployment-verified media (3)
CMR Surgical's overview of Versius Plus, framed around freedom of access by design. The system is surgeon-teleoperated, never autonomous.
From deployment: India
CMR Surgical's footage of a robotic cholecystectomy performed on Versius at Manchester Royal Infirmary. Surgeon-teleoperated, never autonomous.
From deployment: India
CMR Surgical's introduction of its Versius surgical robotic system. A surgeon teleoperates Versius from a console; it is never autonomous.
From deployment: India
Supply chain (1)
Compute / semiconductor
- NVIDIANVIDIA IGX Thor industrial AI compute platform -- adopted as early-adopter evaluation for next-generation Versius surgical robotic system; IGX Thor delivers up to 5,581 FP4 TFLOPS AI compute with 400 GBe connectivity for real-time surgical AI inference and decision support; CMR Surgical also contributed anonymized surgical data to NVIDIA Isaac GRooT-H vision-language-action model for healthcare roboticssuppliesannounced
Suppliers appear here when verified with at least two strong sources (maker-official / IR / regulatory / standards-body / verified tier-2). Sources are append-only; corrections add new sources rather than rewrite history.
Regulatory filings (3)
- fda_510kfda 510k · us_fdacleared
- fda_de_novofda de novo · us_fdacleared2024-10-01
Applicant: CMR Surgical
- DEN230078fda de novo · us_fdagranted2023-11-21
Applicant: CMR Surgical
Safety record
1 recall and 4 incidents on record (1 serious, 1 moderate, 3 minor). Most recent: Jul 2026.
Most recent: Jul 2026
Only active incidents are counted. Retracted incidents are excluded from this summary but remain reachable at their canonical URLs.
Incidents affecting Versius (5)
- FDA clears CMR Surgical Versius Plus robotic surgical system for gallbladder removal procedures2026-07-01 · Regulatory action
- CMR Surgical Versius Plus receives FDA 510(k) clearance for gallbladder surgery2026-03-15 · Regulatory action
- FDA clears CMR Surgical Versius Plus surgical robotic platform for cholecystectomy (510(k))2025-12-17 · Regulatory action
Includes incidents linked directly to this model or to deployments of it. Retracted incidents are excluded from this view but remain reachable at their canonical URLs.
Sources (5)
- https://www.globenewswire.com/news-release/2024/10/15/cmr-surgical-versius-fda-de-novo
- https://www.therobotreport.com/cmr-surgical-receives-fda-clearance-for-versius-plus-surgical-robot/
- https://www.massdevice.com/cmr-surgical-200-million-funding/
- https://www.globenewswire.com/news-release/2026/03/17/cmr-surgical-nvidia-igx-thor
- https://www.cambridgeindependent.co.uk/news/cmr-surgical-redundancies
Compare Versius
Common questions
What is Versius?
How much does Versius cost?
Is Versius actually deployed in the real world?
Is Versius autonomous or teleoperated?
Who makes Versius?
Where is Versius deployed?
Can you buy Versius?
Is Versius FDA cleared?
What are alternatives to Versius?
How does Versius compare to da Vinci (and Ion)?
Is Versius a top surgical?
What is Versius's maturity stage?
Is Versius safe?
How does the CMR Versius compare to da Vinci?
Methodology: Verified · 5 sources (2 primary) · last reviewed 2026-07-12
Verification posture
Verified
High confidence
Review state
Stable
Last reviewed 2026-07-12
Maturity + lifecycle
Maturity stage: commercial
Lifecycle: active
Architectural position
Cohort: surgical
Sources by quality tier
- 2
- primary-company-ir
- Company IR disclosure
- 2
- unclassified
- Unclassified source
- 1
- secondary-trade-publication
- Trade publication
The framework is documented at /methodology. Corrections at /corrections. Reviewer: DEPLOY editorial team.
Methodology surface for Versius.Recent coverage
Versius in third-party press
Attention vs reality over time
Media mentions per month (area) against verified deployment events (dots). A press spike over a flat deployment line is the hype gap, drawn over time.
In the press
Recent coverage mentioning Versius from third-party publications. Automatically surfaced; not part of the verified registry record.
CMR Surgical secures 510k clearance of Versius Plus robotic surgical system
CMR Surgical received FDA 510k clearance for its second-generation Versius Plus surgical robot for cholecystectomy procedures, paving the way for US commercial launch in 2026.…
FDA Clears New Robotic Platform for Gallbladder Surgery
CMR Surgicals Versius Plus received FDA 510(k) clearance for gallbladder surgery, on track for US commercialization in 2026.
CMR Raises 00M in Series D Funding for Versius Surgical Robots
CMR Surgical raised 00M in Series D funding to scale Versius, its minimally invasive surgical robot system.
Machine-readable surfaces
- Markdown mirror: /models/cmr-versius.md
- JSON-LD: embedded in this page’s head
- REST API: /v1/models/34aec096-0484-4591-b8c1-f65bd183344f
- Revision history: /models/cmr-versius/history
- Data documentation: /data
- Query this programmatically: Deploy MCP
Buyer-facing pricing: deploy.report/price/cmr-versius
Video
Reality vs attention
Versius draws attention at the 72nd percentile but verifies reality at the 79th percentile among surgical robots. Hype Gap -7, 24th widest among surgical robots.
6-month trend
Analysis
Limited independent press and video coverage to date.
Signal flags
Dimension breakdown
Verified signal
Attention (reach, not merit)
DEPLOY Intelligence scores are computed from verified registry data: confirmed deployments, disclosed funding rounds, regulatory filings, active job listings, video viewership, and press coverage. Confidence ratings reflect data availability. Scores update nightly.
DEPLOY Indices — verified vs claimed
Last computed: Sep 2, 2026