DEPLOYDatabase

Robot model

Oura Ring 4

biometriccommercialby Oura
$349verifiedas of Oct 2024

Oura (Oura Health, founded 2013 in Oulu, Finland) makes the Oura Ring, a biometric-primary titanium smart ring with sleep and readiness AI, recorded in the new…

Manufacturer
Oura
Form factor
biometric
Maturity
commercial
Lifecycle
active
Deployments
1

The verified answer

As of Sep 2026, DEPLOY verifies Oura Ring 4, a biometric by Oura (commercial): 1 verified deployment on record. 6 sources back the record.

Overview

Oura (Oura Health, founded 2013 in Oulu, Finland) makes the Oura Ring, a biometric-primary titanium smart ring with sleep and readiness AI, recorded in the new biometric form factor, with the Oura Ring 4 from late 2024 introducing its Smart Sensing platform that expanded signal pathways from eight to eighteen on roughly an eight-day battery. It pairs heart-rate and heart-rate-variability, blood-oxygen-trend, multi-point temperature, and accelerometer sensing with sleep staging and a Sleep Score, a Readiness Score, activity, stress, cycle tracking with Natural Cycles integration, a VO2 Max estimate, and an AI Oura Advisor across more than 50 metrics, sold by purchase plus a required membership of $5.99 a month.

On FDA status, the Oura Ring 4 itself has no clearance and is marketed as a general-wellness product, with its only cleared-feature route via partner integrations such as the FDA-cleared Natural Cycles birth-control app consuming Oura temperature data, where the clearance belongs to the partner. Oura is the disciplined counter-case to Whoop in the verified-versus-claimed framework: it launched a Blood Pressure Profile Study in December 2025 to pursue a hypertension feature, but that feature is investigational and not cleared, so Oura is running the clearance path before marketing blood pressure, in contrast to Whoop's market-first posture that drew an FDA warning letter.

A valuation correction is worth recording: Oura is valued at $11 billion after a roughly $900 million Series E in October 2025 led by Fidelity with revenue reportedly above $1 billion in 2025, not the stale roughly $5 billion figure. Its clinical-validation posture is the strongest and growing in the cohort specifically on sleep, with a 2025 Brigham and Women's Hospital study finding it the most accurate consumer sleep tracker for four-stage classification against polysomnography, while its posture is validated wellness rather than a cleared medical device except via partners, and its blood-pressure feature and the accuracy of its Readiness and VO2 Max metrics are investigational or not clearance-validated.

Verified vs. claimed

Maturity stage
commercial(Commercially deployed with revenue-generating operations.)
Sources on file
View all sources →

Key facts

Battery life

~8 days

Price

~$349+ purchase plus required $5.99/month membership

Sensor suite

PPG HR + HRV, red/IR blood-oxygen (SpO2 trends), multi-point skin temperature, accelerometer

FDA status

No FDA clearance; marketed as general-wellness product

Form factor

Titanium smart ring

Specs

Notes

FDA clearances (minimal - the disciplined posture): The Oura Ring 4 itself has NO FDA clearance; it is marketed as a GENERAL-WELLNESS product under FDA's general-wellness policy. Cleared-feature route is via PARTNER integrations (e.g. Natural Cycles, an FDA-cleared birth-control app, consuming Oura temperature data - the clearance belongs to Natural Cycles, not Oura)., Disciplined counter-case to Whoop (verified-vs-claimed): Oura launched a Blood Pressure Profile Study (Dec 2025) pursuing a hypertension feature, but it is INVESTIGATIONAL and NOT cleared - Oura is running the study/clearance path BEFORE marketing BP. This is the disciplined counter-case to Whoop's market-first posture (which drew an FDA warning letter for marketing uncleared BP)., CORRECTION (valuation): Valuation is $11B (Series E ~$900M, Oct 2025, Fidelity-led; revenue reportedly >$1B in 2025) - NOT the stale ~$5B+., Verification posture: Boundary: biometric-primary + AI-augmented. Clinical posture: STRONGEST/growing on SLEEP (2025 Brigham & Women's study found Oura the most accurate consumer sleep tracker for 4-stage classification vs PSG; ~94% sleep/wake sensitivity vs PSG; 2026 meta-analysis corroborated). Posture is 'validated wellness', not 'cleared medical device' (except via partners). NOT verified: BP/hypertension feature (investigational); Readiness/VO2 Max accuracy (not clearance-validated).

Specs

Oura Ring 4 (Gen 4, late 2024). Titanium smart ring; 'Smart Sensing' (recessed sensors, signal pathways 8->18); ~8-day battery. Sensors: PPG HR + HRV, red/IR blood-oxygen (SpO2 trends), multi-point skin temperature, accelerometer. Outputs: Sleep staging + Sleep Score, Readiness Score, Activity, stress, Cycle tracking + Natural Cycles integration, VO2 Max estimate, AI 'Oura Advisor' (LLM). 50+ metrics. Founded 2013, Oulu Finland. Purchase (~$349+) + REQUIRED Oura Membership ($5.99/mo).

Battery

5-8 days

Weight kg

0.005

Form Factor

biometric (biometric-primary smart ring + AI augmentation; sleep/readiness; general-wellness)

Fda clearance

Source: oura.com Status: none; Details: No FDA clearance as of 2026. CE mark Class IIa medical device in EU (2019). Positioned as wellness device in US market.; Audited at: 2026-06-07; Source name: Oura; Health claim: Sleep, readiness, activity tracking. Explicitly wellness-oriented in US; EU has medical device registration. No diagnostic claims in US.; Verification posture: verified

Data & sources

Press releases

2

News coverage

2

Research

1

Web sources

1

6 sources backing this record.View all →

Availability and pricing

Availability
Shipping now
Price
$349 to $499 (actual sale price)as of 2024-10-01
Units in field
Not disclosed
Sales model
Not disclosed
Lead time
Not disclosed

Pricing

One-time purchase

$349 - $499 USDactual sale priceas of 2024-10-01

Source: Oura (Ring 4)

Price status: actual-sale-price = real published price at time of sale; manufacturer-target = vendor target, not yet realized; analyst-estimate = third-party projection, not a vendor figure; not-announced = no price on record.

Prices verified as of Oct 1, 2024

Deployments (1)

Free to use on your site, with a link back to DEPLOY.

Oura Ring 4 on the deployment map

View the global map

Where Oura Ring 4 is verified operating. Explore the deployment map by place and type.

Free to use on your site, with a link back to DEPLOY.

Recent activity

Every change to this record is dated, sourced, and independently verified where marked.

Full change history →

Deployment-verified media (2)

PRIMARY SOURCE
Courtesy of Oura

Oura's introduction of the Oura Ring 4. Oura is a wellness device; its sleep, readiness, and stress metrics are not FDA-cleared diagnostics.

From deployment: Global

PRIMARY SOURCE
Courtesy of ŌURA

Official Oura launch video for the Oura Ring 4, featuring Smart Sensing technology with up to 8 days of battery life, fully titanium design with recessed interior sensors, expanded size range, and six finishes.

From deployment: Global

Supply chain (2)

Compute / semiconductor

  • Infineon TechnologiesInfineon PSoC 6 microcontroller -- dual-core ARM Cortex-M4F + Cortex-M0+ SoC; serves as main application processor and sensor data aggregator in Oura Ring 4; a different PSoC 6 SKU is also used in the charging base; Infineon PSoC 6 accounts for a significant portion of the IC bill of materials (combined with Analog Devices AFE and power management IC, approximately 52% of total IC cost per TechInsights 2024 teardown)supplies

Sensors

  • Analog DevicesAnalog Devices MAX86178F analog front-end (AFE) -- multi-parameter biometric sensor hub integrating PPG (photoplethysmography), ECG, and EDA sensing channels; one of the highest-cost ICs in the Oura Ring 4 design; drives the ring's core health monitoring capabilities (heart rate, heart rate variability, blood oxygen, temperature, and skin response)supplies

Suppliers appear here when verified with at least two strong sources (maker-official / IR / regulatory / standards-body / verified tier-2). Sources are append-only; corrections add new sources rather than rewrite history.

Safety record

No incidents on record for Oura Ring 4.

Only active incidents are counted. Retracted incidents are excluded from this summary but remain reachable at their canonical URLs.

Sources (6)

  1. https://www.cnbc.com/2025/10/14/oura-smart-ring-11-billion-valuation.html
  2. https://ouraring.com/blog/oura-ring-4/
  3. https://www.medtechdive.com/news/oura-blood-pressure-fda-study/
  4. https://sleepreviewmag.com/sleep-diagnostics/consumer-sleep-tracking/oura-ring-4-sleep-accuracy/
  5. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/38382312/
  6. https://support.ouraring.com/hc/en-us/articles/33045011508115-Oura-Ring-4

Compare Oura Ring 4

Common questions

What is Oura Ring 4?
Oura (Oura Health, founded 2013 in Oulu, Finland) makes the Oura Ring, a biometric-primary titanium smart ring with sleep and readiness AI, recorded in the new biometric form factor, with the Oura Ring 4 from late 2024 introducing its Smart Sensing platform that expanded signal pathways from eight to eighteen on roughly an eight-day battery. It pairs heart-rate and heart-rate-variability, blood-oxygen-trend, multi-point temperature, and accelerometer sensing with sleep staging and a Sleep Score, a Readiness Score, activity, stress, cycle tracking with Natural Cycles integration, a VO2 Max estimate, and an AI Oura Advisor across more than 50 metrics, sold by purchase plus a required membership of $5.99 a month. On FDA status, the Oura Ring 4 itself has no clearance and is marketed as a general-wellness product, with its only cleared-feature route via partner integrations such as the FDA-cleared Natural Cycles birth-control app consuming Oura temperature data, where the clearance belongs to the partner. Oura is the disciplined counter-case to Whoop in the verified-versus-claimed framework: it launched a Blood Pressure Profile Study in December 2025 to pursue a hypertension feature, but that feature is investigational and not cleared, so Oura is running the clearance path before marketing blood pressure, in contrast to Whoop's market-first posture that drew an FDA warning letter. A valuation correction is worth recording: Oura is valued at $11 billion after a roughly $900 million Series E in October 2025 led by Fidelity with revenue reportedly above $1 billion in 2025, not the stale roughly $5 billion figure. Its clinical-validation posture is the strongest and growing in the cohort specifically on sleep, with a 2025 Brigham and Women's Hospital study finding it the most accurate consumer sleep tracker for four-stage classification against polysomnography, while its posture is validated wellness rather than a cleared medical device except via partners, and its blood-pressure feature and the accuracy of its Readiness and VO2 Max metrics are investigational or not clearance-validated.
How much does Oura Ring 4 cost?
Oura Ring 4 is listed at $349 to $499 on the DEPLOY registry. This is an actual sale price on record.
Is Oura Ring 4 actually deployed in the real world?
Yes. Oura Ring 4 is independently verified in real-world operation on the DEPLOY registry, confirmed at named deployment sites with primary sources: not a concept, render, or demo-only.
Is Oura Ring 4 autonomous or teleoperated?
Partly. DEPLOY verifies Oura Ring 4 operating autonomously for Tracks sleep. Other capabilities (Tracks heart health, Tracks menstrual cycle, and Tracks body temperature) are only demonstrated under teleoperation or remain vendor claims, not independently verified as autonomous.
What are the specs of Oura Ring 4?
Oura Ring 4's recorded specifications on the DEPLOY registry: Battery: 5-8 days; Weight: 0.005 kg. See the Specs section for the full sourced set.
Who makes Oura Ring 4?
Oura Ring 4 is made by Oura, based in Oulu, Finland, founded in 2013.
Where is Oura Ring 4 deployed?
1 verified deployment of Oura Ring 4 is on the DEPLOY registry, including at Global.
Can you buy Oura Ring 4?
Oura Ring 4 is available for purchase - a real sale price is on record (see the pricing section for the figure and its source).
What are alternatives to Oura Ring 4?
On the DEPLOY registry, comparable biometric robots to Oura Ring 4 include Blackrock Neuroport Array, BrainQ Non-Invasive BCI, Neko Body Scan, RNS System.
How does Oura Ring 4 compare to Blackrock Neuroport Array?
Oura Ring 4 and Blackrock Neuroport Array (Blackrock Neurotech · 5 deployments) are both biometric robots on the DEPLOY registry. Oura Ring 4 has 1 verified deployment on record. Compare both records for specs, safety, deployments, and verified-vs-claimed autonomy.
Is Oura Ring 4 a top biometric?
On DEPLOY's intelligence score, which blends verified deployments, safety, adoption, media, and IP signals, Oura Ring 4 ranks in roughly the top 75% of biometric models tracked by the registry.
What is Oura Ring 4's maturity stage?
Oura Ring 4 is at the commercial stage on the DEPLOY maturity ladder (research, prototype, pilot, commercial, production). Commercial stage means production-grade deployments are operating at named customer sites.
Is Oura Ring 4 safe?
Oura Ring 4 has no incidents on record in the DEPLOY registry. This does not constitute a safety guarantee; it reflects the incidents DEPLOY has tracked and verified to date.
What does the Oura Ring track?
The Oura Ring tracks over 50 health metrics including sleep, activity, stress, heart health, metabolic health, and women's health. Battery life is approximately 9 days. Oura has published FDA guidance for non-invasive metrics like blood pressure estimation. Oura Ring 5 is the latest generation, sold as the world's smallest smart ring.
Methodology: Verified · 6 sources (3 primary) · last reviewed 2026-07-15

Verification posture

Verified

High confidence

Review state

Stable

Last reviewed 2026-07-15

Maturity + lifecycle

Maturity stage: commercial

Lifecycle: active

Architectural position

Cohort: biometric

Sources by quality tier

2
primary-company-ir
Company IR disclosure
1
secondary-established-publication
Established publication
1
secondary-trade-publication
Trade publication
1
unclassified
Unclassified source
1
primary-academic-peer-reviewed
Peer-reviewed clinical / academic

The framework is documented at /methodology. Corrections at /corrections. Reviewer: DEPLOY editorial team.

Methodology surface for Oura Ring 4.

Recent coverage

Oura Ring 4 in third-party press