DEPLOYDatabase

Robot model

Semi

truckcommercialby Tesla

The Tesla Semi is a Class 8 battery-electric heavy-duty truck (325-mile and 500-mile range variants), unveiled in November 2017 with first deliveries to…

Manufacturer
Tesla
Form factor
truck
Maturity
commercial
Lifecycle
active
Deployments
7

The verified answer

As of Sep 2026, DEPLOY verifies Semi, a truck by Tesla (commercial): 7 verified deployments on record. 10 sources back the record.

Appears inLogistics robots

Overview

The Tesla Semi is a Class 8 battery-electric heavy-duty truck (325-mile and 500-mile range variants), unveiled in November 2017 with first deliveries to PepsiCo on December 1 2022. The registry records it at commercial maturity on the strength of PepsiCo's sustained, multi-site, multi-year fleet operation (Sacramento beverage and Modesto Frito-Lay), with additional independent pilots at ArcBest/ABF and DHL (first delivery December 2025).

Critically, the Tesla Semi is a human-driven electric truck: every deployed unit runs with a driver, Tesla has made no Level 4 claim, and it removed Autopilot/FSD references from the Semi's marketing. Full autonomy is a roadmap claim only, so the registry does not wire the Semi to Tesla's FSD stack.

Volume production at the dedicated Giga Nevada Semi factory is targeted for 2026 (a repeatedly-slipped Tesla target); production is still ramping. 2017-era pricing of $150k-$180k is a stale projection.

Verified vs. claimed

Maturity stage
commercial(Commercially deployed with revenue-generating operations.)
Sources on file
View all sources →

Key facts

Range

325-mile and 500-mile range variants

Drive type

battery-electric; Megacharger / 750kW charging

Autonomy level

human-driven; autonomy is a roadmap claim only (no enabled/verified L4)

Production target

2026 at dedicated Giga Nevada Semi factory (~50k/yr capacity)

Price

$150k (300mi) / $180k (500mi) — 2017-era stale projection

Variants

Standard Range (325 mi) and Long Range (500 mi at 82,000 lb GCW); three-motor rear axle setup

Europe expansion

Business Development Manager appointed for France (Aug 2026); sales listings in Germany; European deliveries expected ~2027

Safety hardware

10 external cameras + internal cabin camera; active emergency braking; FSD planned for Semi

Cabin

Center-driving position, two 16-inch touchscreens, wireless phone chargers

I-5 corridor

BC2BC zero-emission corridor (Canada to Mexico, 1,381 mi) targeting 2030

Specs

Notes

Verified (electric-truck reality): A Class 8 battery-electric truck (325 + 500 mi variants), unveiled Nov 2017, first delivered to PepsiCo Dec 1 2022. PepsiCo runs a sustained multi-site fleet (Sacramento beverage + Modesto Frito-Lay); independent pilots with ArcBest/ABF and DHL (Dec 2025). All deployed units are HUMAN-DRIVEN., Stated-claim: Volume production targeted 2026 at the dedicated Giga Nevada Semi factory (~50k/yr capacity) - repeatedly slipped (2019 -> 2022 low-rate -> 2025 -> 2026). 2017 pricing of $150k (300mi) / $180k (500mi) is a stale projection. Production is still ramping (pilot/low-rate)., Claimed / roadmap (NOT verified): Any autonomous/self-driving capability. The Semi is an electric truck, not an autonomous one: no enabled L4, no Tesla autonomy claim, FSD references removed from marketing. Recorded NOT wired to the tesla-fsd-bot brain (autonomy unverified)., Tesla family: form_factor=truck; cohorts with autonomous-trucking AVs (Aurora, Kodiak, Bot Auto). Completes the Tesla physical-AI family alongside tesla-optimus, tesla-robotaxi, tesla-cybercab, and the tesla-fsd-bot brain - though the Semi's tie to FSD is roadmap, not realized.

Range

325-mile and 500-mile range variants (~500 mi headline)

Battery

822 kWh

Autonomy

human-driven today; autonomy is a roadmap claim only (no enabled/verified L4; Tesla removed FSD/Autopilot references from Semi marketing)

Weight kg

10433

Drivetrain

battery-electric; ~500 mi at 80,000 lb; Megacharger / 750kW charging

Form Factor

truck (Class 8 battery-electric heavy-duty truck)

Walk speed ms

26.8

Data & sources

Company filings

1

Press releases

2

News coverage

2

Web sources

5

10 sources backing this record.View all →

Availability and pricing

Availability
Shipping now
Price
$150K to $180K (manufacturer target)as of 2017-11-16
Units in field
Not disclosed
Sales model
Not disclosed
Lead time
Not disclosed

Accountability: Tesla has a Claim Integrity of 0% (0 of 4 public claims verified). See the industry ledger.

Pricing

One-time purchase

$150,000 - $180,000 USDmanufacturer targetas of 2017-11-16

Source: Tesla Semi (announced pricing, 2017 reveal)

Price status: actual-sale-price = real published price at time of sale; manufacturer-target = vendor target, not yet realized; analyst-estimate = third-party projection, not a vendor figure; not-announced = no price on record.

Prices verified as of Nov 16, 2017

Deployments (7)

  • Tesla Semi trucks operating with DHL in California for freight deliveries.

  • Semi at Parisannounced

    Tesla appointed Business Development Manager Jean-William Dubal for Tesla Semi launch in France; deliveries expected ~2027

  • Tesla Semi sales listings appeared in Germany; local sales team being built in Munich freight hub

  • Semi at Canadaoperational

    Tesla began deliveries of the Semi truck to Walmart Canada in December 2022, making Walmart Canada one of the first recipients of the vehicle alongside PepsiCo.

  • An honest single-unit current state, not the oft-cited 2017 fleet order.

  • A completed, time-boxed pilot, not an operating fleet.

  • PepsiCo is the Tesla Semi's anchor fleet operator, taking its first trucks at Tesla's December 1, 2022 delivery event.

Free to use on your site, with a link back to DEPLOY.

Semi on the deployment map

View the global map

Where Semi is verified operating. Explore the deployment map by place and type.

Free to use on your site, with a link back to DEPLOY.

Recent activity

Every change to this record is dated, sourced, and independently verified where marked.

Full change history →

Deployment-verified media (1)

PRIMARY SOURCE
Courtesy of Tesla

Tesla's December 2022 Semi delivery event (first customer deliveries, to PepsiCo). The Semi is a battery-electric Class 8 truck and is human-driven: it has no driverless or autonomous-trucking product, and Tesla's Full Self-Driving is a separate consumer-car program.

From deployment: California

Manufacturer-attributed media (1)

Manufacturer-supplied media at the model level. Not tied to an independently verified named-site deployment. Verification posture is product-showcase from the maker, distinct from the deployment-verified evidence in the section above.

Runs on (1)

Supply chain (1)

Compute / semiconductor

  • TSMCFSD HW4 computer (N7 node) -- Full Self-Driving autonomy chip in Tesla Semimanufactures-for

Suppliers appear here when verified with at least two strong sources (maker-official / IR / regulatory / standards-body / verified tier-2). Sources are append-only; corrections add new sources rather than rewrite history.

Safety record

1 incident on record (1 critical). Most recent: Jun 2026.

critical
1

Most recent: Jun 2026

Only active incidents are counted. Retracted incidents are excluded from this summary but remain reachable at their canonical URLs.

Incidents affecting Semi (1)

Includes incidents linked directly to this model or to deployments of it. Retracted incidents are excluded from this view but remain reachable at their canonical URLs.

Sources (10)

  1. https://www.cnbc.com/2017/11/16/tesla-semi-truck-has-a-500-mile-range-ceo-elon-musk-reveals.html
  2. https://techcrunch.com/2022/12/01/tesla-reveals-long-awaited-semi-truck-and-begins-first-deliveries/
  3. https://insideevs.com/news/661934/pepsico-fleet-tesla-semi-sacramento/
  4. https://www.pepsico.com/en/newsroom/stories/2023/go-behind-the-wheel-with-pepsicos-first-tesla-semi-driver
  5. https://www.ttnews.com/articles/tesla-semi-arcbest-pilot
  6. https://electrek.co/2025/12/08/dhl-takes-tesla-semi-electric-truck/
  7. https://electrek.co/2025/04/28/tesla-gives-update-semi-factory-on-track-volume-production-2026/
  8. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/0001318605/000162828026026551/exhibit991.htm
  9. https://electrek.co/2022/12/03/tesla-semi-no-word-equipped-autopilot-full-self-driving/
  10. https://www.tesla.com/semi

Compare Semi

Common questions

What is Semi?
The Tesla Semi is a Class 8 battery-electric heavy-duty truck (325-mile and 500-mile range variants), unveiled in November 2017 with first deliveries to PepsiCo on December 1 2022. The registry records it at commercial maturity on the strength of PepsiCo's sustained, multi-site, multi-year fleet operation (Sacramento beverage and Modesto Frito-Lay), with additional independent pilots at ArcBest/ABF and DHL (first delivery December 2025). Critically, the Tesla Semi is a human-driven electric truck: every deployed unit runs with a driver, Tesla has made no Level 4 claim, and it removed Autopilot/FSD references from the Semi's marketing. Full autonomy is a roadmap claim only, so the registry does not wire the Semi to Tesla's FSD stack. Volume production at the dedicated Giga Nevada Semi factory is targeted for 2026 (a repeatedly-slipped Tesla target); production is still ramping. 2017-era pricing of $150k-$180k is a stale projection.
How much does Semi cost?
Semi is listed at $150,000 to $180,000 on the DEPLOY registry. This is a manufacturer target price, not a confirmed consumer price.
Is Semi actually deployed in the real world?
Yes. Semi is independently verified in real-world operation on the DEPLOY registry, confirmed at named deployment sites with primary sources: not a concept, render, or demo-only.
Is Semi autonomous or teleoperated?
Not verified as fully autonomous. Semi's capabilities on the DEPLOY registry are recorded as teleoperated-assisted, demonstrated-only, or vendor claims (highway driving with FSD capabilities), not independently confirmed to run without a human in the loop.
What are the specs of Semi?
Semi's recorded specifications on the DEPLOY registry: Range: 325-mile and 500-mile range variants (~500 mi headline); Battery: 822 kWh; Weight: 10433 kg. See the Specs section for the full sourced set.
Who makes Semi?
Semi is made by Tesla, based in Austin, Texas, USA, founded in 2003.
Where is Semi deployed?
7 verified deployments of Semi are on the DEPLOY registry, including at Sacramento, California, USA, Paris, Munich, Germany.
Can you buy Semi?
Semi is in commercial deployment and is sold to operators; contact the manufacturer to buy, and see the pricing section for any recorded price.
What AI powers Semi?
Semi runs Tesla FSD-Bot. Each brain assignment is verified at the registry level via primary sources.
What are alternatives to Semi?
On the DEPLOY registry, comparable truck robots to Semi include Gatik Autonomous Box Truck, Kodiak Driverless Truck, Aurora Driver on International LT (2nd-gen), Kodiak Driver.
How does Semi compare to Gatik Autonomous Box Truck?
Semi and Gatik Autonomous Box Truck (Gatik · 12 deployments) are both truck robots on the DEPLOY registry. Semi has 7 verified deployments on record. Compare both records for specs, safety, deployments, and verified-vs-claimed autonomy.
Is Semi a top truck?
On DEPLOY's intelligence score, which blends verified deployments, safety, adoption, media, and IP signals, Semi ranks in roughly the top 16% of truck models tracked by the registry.
What is Semi's maturity stage?
Semi is at the commercial stage on the DEPLOY maturity ladder (research, prototype, pilot, commercial, production). Commercial stage means production-grade deployments are operating at named customer sites.
Is Semi safe?
Semi has 1 active incident on record in the DEPLOY registry. 1 incident on record (1 critical). Most recent: Jun 2026. Retracted incidents are excluded from this count.
Is the Tesla Semi autonomous or self-driving?
Tesla has not officially confirmed autonomous or Full Self-Driving (FSD) capability for the Tesla Semi. The Semi is in limited production and delivery (PepsiCo fleet), but no verified autonomous operation has been demonstrated. FSD is available on Tesla passenger cars (Model 3/Y) but not confirmed for the Semi. All claims of Semi autonomy are third-party speculation.
Methodology: Verified · 10 sources (3 primary) · last reviewed 2026-08-27

Verification posture

Verified

High confidence

Review state

Stable

Last reviewed 2026-08-27

Maturity + lifecycle

Maturity stage: commercial

Lifecycle: active

Architectural position

Cohort: truck

Sources by quality tier

5
unclassified
Unclassified source
2
primary-company-ir
Company IR disclosure
1
secondary-established-publication
Established publication
1
secondary-industry-publication
Industry publication
1
primary-sec-filing
SEC filing

The framework is documented at /methodology. Corrections at /corrections. Reviewer: DEPLOY editorial team.

Methodology surface for Semi.

Recent coverage

Semi in third-party press